10th Annual IIG Awards This Sunday

For Immediate Release

The IIG has announced the finalists to be honored in their 10th Annual IIG Awards ceremony recognizing the promotion of science in popular media. These include the TV series Adam Ruins Everything (TruTV), the feature film The Martian (20th Century Fox), the podcast Oh No! Ross and Carrie (Maximum Fun)and science advocate and Cosmos producer Ann Druyan.

7:00 pm
Sunday May 22nd
Steve Allen Theater
4773 Hollywood Blvd

“For the tenth year in a row we honor those few individuals in the media fighting the good fight,” said James Underdown, chair of the IIG, “It’s a thankless job, so we’re saying, ‘Thank you.'”

Presenters of the awards for 2016 include Matt Walsh (UCB, Veep), Glenn Plummer (ER, Menace II Society, Sons of Anarchy), Ron Lynch (Bob’s Burgers, Adventure Time), comedian Jim Coughlin, musician Hannah Gansen and blogger Heina Dadabhoy. Also in attendance will be representatives of the winning shows including Eliza Skinner (Adam Ruins Everything), Ross Blocher and Carrie Poppy (Oh No! Ross and Carrie). Additionally, winners will accept their awards via video, including Adam Conover (Adam Ruins Everything) and Andy Weir (author of “The Martian”).

A special honor bestowed by the IIG for exceptional achievement is induction into the Houdini Hall of Honor. This year’s inductee is Ann Druyan –producer of both editions of “Cosmos” – who will be appearing live. She joins Harry Houdini, James “The Amazing” Randi and her late husband Carl Sagan and others in this honor.

Also being recognized this year is the series Hollywood Medium (E!). This show will receive the “Truly Terrible Television Award” given each year to programs that promote pseudoscience or belief in the paranormal.